I accept the challenge!

In reality, the challenge wasn’t issued to me specifically. See the video on youtube, ‘Challenge: Can you pass the qualification test? Part I”. I searched and cannot find a Part II yet. The author notes Part II will be a couple more handguns in his stable.

Fire twenty (20) rounds at a bullseye type target at 45 feet. (That’s the same as 15 yards, by the way.) No time limit noted. The guns used are limited to those one actually carries.

I’m up for a challenge. It’s either that or move to the ‘home’ and wait to die.

I’m trying to think of all the guns I consider as ‘normal carry handguns”. My normal carry pistol is a lightweight Commander in .45 ACP. Probably the dinkiest gun I carry is a Smith & Wesson Chief Special. (A two inch barrel, five shot revolver in .38 Special.)

My immediate thoughts are the Commander, the Chief Special, a two-inch K frame .38 Special revolver and that .44 Special Second Model I keep bragging about. That’s four handguns. One of the .32 auto collection will make it a total of five. That sounds indicative and responsive. Hmmm. Perhaps Monday. Anything to get out of cleaning the house!

I’ll get back to you all.

4 Comments

Filed under Firearms and their use

4 responses to “I accept the challenge!

  1. R M Datus

    It order to confidently protect yourself and your friends, perhaps another trusting soul would lend you a Glock to ensure your continuing success.

  2. I did go to the range yesterday, 16 March 2015 (Monday) and fired several of my carrying and ‘use’ sidearms to meet the outlined challenge. Now I have to figure out how to get the videos I recorded onto You Tube. Not an impossible task; I just have to figure it out. More, hopefully soon.

  3. R M Datus

    General George Smith Patton Junior, at one time or another, carried as his “insurance” guns a 1908 Colt .380 with ebony grips and inlaid stars, a square butt Colt Detective Special, and a refurbished inscribed .380 Remington 51. Apparently Old Man Montgomery, who is an aficionado of the .380, is in good company! Most people only know of the General’s more visible ivory-handled S&W .357 (3 1/2″ barrel) and the .45 Colt SA 1873 (4 3/4″ barrel) or his .32 General Officer’s Model. Again, Old Man Montgomery is worthy of emulation!

    • One minor detail. I am not so much a fan of the .380 ACP. It is suitable in context, but I don’t have that context. I find .380 ACP to be somewhat inadequate for self defense – too small and low powered for proper defense. I do recognize many knowledgable people disagree with this assessment. (Not a unique situation in my life.) Of course, in history the .380 ACP and .32 ACP have been used for personal defense.

      I do collect .32 ACP pistols as historically interesting, but not due to their power.

Leave a Reply

